WE MAKE THIS DHIKR IN EVERY RUKU’ IN OUR SALAH.

WE MAKE THIS DHIKR IN EVERY RUKU’ IN OUR SALAH. DO WE KNOW WHY WE SAY THIS IN RUKU’ AND WHAT IT MEANS? LET’S LEARN.

سُبْحَانَ رَبِّيَ الْعَظِيمِ

Subhâna Rabbiyal-‘azîm.

Glory to my Lord, the Exalted. –Three times [Abû Dawûd, ’Ahmad, authenticated by al-’Albânî in Sahîh at-Tirmidhî]

Explanatory Note:
Ruku‘ and sajdah are the two states in prayer when we express our humility before our Lord. This is why we praise and glorify Allâh subhânahu wa ta‘âlâ in these positions. When we say “Subhâna Rabbi”, we are disassociating Allâh from any imperfection and from every defect and shortcoming in His attributes, actions and His rights (over the creation). Among His rights are the declaration of His mightiness in every situation, the placing of obedience to Him before obedience to our soul or parents, leaders and others besides them. And we say“Rabbi” meaning “my Lord” in order to feel closeness to Him and love Him. It adds that element of bonding, that ingredient for connection and love. He is My Lord (Rabbi) Who has raised me in His care, clothing me, feeding me, healing me, nurturing me. So by saying this dhikr with our heart, we realize His Majesty and Sovereignty and say, “I place all my hopes with You, My Lord.”

Allah SWT Knows Best.

From the book “REACHING OUT TO MY RABB”

Leave a Reply

